Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
Britannica Image Quest contains images from providers such as Dorling Kindersley, National Geographic, and Getty. All images are rights-cleared for educational use.
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 16 500 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are welcome to apply for inclusion.
A collection of approximately 30,000 e-books in disciplines, including science, technology, medicine, and life sciences. Link to a quick guide and a training video from the Ebook Central home page. For access to EBookCentral on mobile devices, download the BlueFire reader for iOS and Android. Users will need to create a free Adobe ID and log into to BlueFire before downloading any e-book content. For laptops, use Adobe Digital Editions.
KovsieScholar is a digital service that collects, preserves, and distributes digital material. Repositories are important tools for preserving an organization's legacy; they facilitate digital preservation and scholarly communication.
MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection
Note: Access requires individuals to create a profile using the University email address. Please register here by selecting university login.
PharosOnline is a collection of online general and subject dictionaries. It offers a one-stop reference for anyone who wants to communicate effectively in English, Afrikaans and other languages. This collection includes a large variety of technical dictionaries and is continually expanded as new titles become available.
The most comprehensive searchable collection of full text electronic South African journals in the world, focuses on making journals published in South Africa, available online. How to search on SAePublications.
SAePublications changed title to Sabinet African Journals
SAGE Research Methods is a web-based research methods tool that covers quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up research. Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, and is of potential use to researchers from the social sciences, health sciences and other research areas.
This multidisciplinary resource indexes thousands of Elsevier journals and books. Full text is available for some of these publications. It is especially strong in topics related to the sciences, medicine, and technology.
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
AccessAnesthesiology from McGraw-Hill Medical offers a new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction – all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content -– optimized for viewing on any device.
AccessPhysiotherapy from McGraw-Hill Medical is devoted exclusively to the study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy – with groundbreaking content for today’s PT. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online physiotherapy resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool –optimized for viewing on any device.
Alternate Name(s)
Higher Education from Cambridge University Press
Higher Education from Cambridge University Press offers the highest quality content and resources for leading authors to instructors and students, supporting successful teaching and learning journeys in today’s rapidly changing educational environment.
Our textbooks cover many subjects across Science, Engineering, Mathematics, Medicine and Nursing, the Humanities, and the Social Sciences. In order to keep you up to date with the latest and forthcoming developments this page will be updated regularly with important changes and information.
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than five million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web. Everything you find is fully available for free.
JoVE is the world-leading producer and provider of science videos with the mission to improve scientific research and education. Millions of scientists, educators and students at thousands of universities, colleges, hospitals and biopharmaceutical companies worldwide use JoVE for their research, teaching and learning.
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Note: contact Ms. Xorile at mvumvuX@ufs.ac.za for login credential. Perlego is a digital online library focusing on the delivery of academic, professional and non-fiction eBooks. Perlego - Online Library - Over 1M+ Books, 950 Topics. Learn without limits with unlimited access to over 1,000,000 non-fiction titles. Quality reading, in one simple space. Get started today. Stop Overspending On Textbooks. Unlimited reading. Top Publishers. The Library of the Future. Cancel any time. 1,000,000 Textbooks.
Join ProQuest on a journey to transform the academic experience. For the first time, your library can have access to the world’s largest curated collection of journals, ebooks, dissertations, news, video and primary sources, all in one place. With ProQuest One Academic, four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global– are now available and cross-searchable on the same user-friendly, responsive, mobile-enabled ProQuest platform.
Coverage: 1970 - current
Read Institutional Edition is a platform that helps clinicians find evidence-based practice-changing research that improves patient care and reduces costs.
Note: Access requires individuals to create a profile using the University email address. The S&P Capital IQ platform, an offering of S&P Global Market Intelligence, is your single source for a powerful array of financial data, analytics and research. Our web-based platform combines deep information on companies, markets and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation and workflow management.
Note: Access requires individuals to create a profile. Sabinet Discover contain all Legal, Reference and News content.
Sabinet Discover is the ultimate information services tool providing seamless access to comprehensive African legal, news and research content. The platform allows subscribers and non-subscribers to discover and effortlessly access the richness of Sabinet’s information services.
