Skip to Main Content

Faculty of Theology and Religion

Welcome to the library LibGuides of the Faculty of Theology and Religion.

Biblical Study and Scholarship Resources

  • Bible Commentaries
  • Bible Concordances
  • Bible Dictionaries
  • Bible Encyclopedias

Bible Commentaries

Bible Commentaries

 

Bible Concordances

Bible Concordances
Afrikaanse Bybelkonkordansie : gegrond op die vertaling van 1933 en die hersiene uitgawe van 1957 C.F. Mijnhardt ; hersien en uitgebrei deur Felix A. Mijnhardt. : Mijnhardt, C.F.  
      220.53936 MIJ ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN, 1986
The complete concordance to the Bible : New King James version.  
          220.52033COM ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN  c1983
  The NIV complete concordance : the complete concordance to the New International Version Edward W. Goodrick & John R. Kohlenberger III. : Goodrick, Edward W.  
      220.5204 GOO ; Main Lib Books   1983
Cruden's complete concordance to the Bible : with notes and biblical proper names under one alphabetical arrangement by Alexander Cruden ; edited by C.H. Irwin, A.D. Adams, S.A. Walters. : Cruden, Alexander.  
      220.52003CRU ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN  1980
The new combined Bible dictionary and concordance : with introduction on how to study the Bible by Charles F. Pfeiffer. : Pfeiffer, Charles F.  
      220.3PFE ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN  1979
The Zondervan expanded concordance ; 4th print.  
          220.52ZON ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN  1976
Analytical Concordance to the Holy Bible by Robert Young. : Young, Robert,  
      220.52003 YOU ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN  1975
Afrikaanse Bybelkonkordansie C.F. Mijnhardt ; verbeter en aansienlik uitgebrei deur Felix A. Mijnhardt. : Mijnhardt, C.F.  
      220.53936MIJ ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN  1973
The exhaustive concordance of the Bible : showing every word of the text of the common English version of the Canonical Books, and every occurrence of each word in regular order, together with dictionaries of the Hebrew and Greek words of the original, with references to the English words by James Strong. : Strong, James, 
          220.52033 STR ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN  1961?
​Complete concordance to the Bible : Douay Version by Newton Thompson and Raymond Stock ; 8th impression. : Thompson, Newton.         220.52023THO ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN  1951
The exhaustive concordance of the Bible : showing every word of the text of the common English version of the canonical books, and every occurrence of each word in regular order : together with A comparative concordance of the authorized and revised versions, including the American variations : also brief dictionaries of the Hebrew and Greek words of the original, with references to the English words James Strong ; 20th print. : Strong, James. 
          220.52STR ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN  1951
 Helps to the study of the Bible.  
          220.3 HEL ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN  1932
A complete concordance to the Old and New Testament, or, A dictionary and alphabetical index to the Bible : with a complete table of proper names with their meanings in the original languages, a concordance to the proper names of the Old and New Testament, a concordance to the Apocrypha, and a compendium to the Holy Scriptures, etc., etc. by Alexander Cruden ; with a memoir by William Youngman. : Cruden, Alexander.  
      220.2CRU ; Main Lib Storage:CHECK SHELF, Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN  1889
Synoptic concordance : a Greek concordance to the first three Gospels in synoptic arrangement, statistically evaluated, including occurences in Acts = grieschische Konkordanz zu den ersten drei Evangelien in synoptischer Darstellung, statistisch ausgewertet, mit Berücksichtigung der Apostelgeschichte Paul Hoffmann, Thomas Hieke, Ulrich Bauer. : Hoffmann, Paul,  
      226.048HOF ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN  1999-
A new concordance of the Bible : thesaurus of the language of the Bible, Hebrew and Aramaic roots, words, proper names, phrases and synonyms edited by Abraham Even-Shoshaw.   
      221.5924NEW ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN  1993

Bible Dictionaries

Bible Dictionaries
Dictionary of daily life in biblical and post-biblical antiquity Edwin M. Yamauchi and Marvin R. Wilson. : Yamauchi, Edwin M.     
      225.9503 YAM ; Main Lib Reference:CHECK SHELF   PRINTED MATL 2014-
A concise dictionary of the Bible and its reception John F. A. Sawyer. : Sawyer, John F. A.     
      220.3 SAW ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL c2009
Pocket dictionary of biblical studies Arthur G. Patzia & Anthony J. Petrotta. : Patzia, Arthur G.     
      220.3 PAT ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 2002
Dictionary of biblical imagery general editors: Leland Ryken, James C. Wilhoit, Tremper Longman III ; consulting editors: Colin Duriez, Douglas Penney, Daniel G. Reid.      
      220.3 DIC ; Main Lib Books:CHECK SHELF   PRINTED MATL 1998
Dictionary of deities and demons in the Bible (DDD) Karel van der Toorn, Bob Becking, Pieter W. van der Horst, editors.      
      220.3DIC ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1995
The Anchor Bible dictionary David Noel Freedman, editor-in-chief ; associate editors: Gary A. Herion, David F. Graf, John David Pleins ; managing editor: Astrid B. Beck.      
      220.3 ANC ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN, Main Lib Reference:CHECK SHELF   PRINTED MATL c1992
Roget's thesaurus of the Bible by A. Colin Day. : Day, A. Colin.     
      220.3DAY ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1992
The Eerdmans Bible dictionary revision editor, Allen C. Myers ; associate editors, John W. Simpson, Jr. ... [et al.].      
      220.3 EER ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1987
Harper's Bible dictionary general editor: Paul J. Achtemeier, associate editors: Roger S. Boraas ... (et al.).      
      220.3 HAR ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL c1985
The New Westminster dictionary of the Bible edited by Henry Snyder Gehman ; (illustrations edited by Robert B. Wright).      
      220.3NEW ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1982
The new compact topical Bible compiled by Gary C. Wharton.      
      220.52003 NEW ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1980
Fausset's Bible dictionary by A.R. Fausset ; 22nd print. : Fausset, A.R.     
      220.52003FAU ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1980
The Zondervan pictorial Bible dictionary general editor: Merrill C. Tenney ; associate editor: Steven Barabas ; picture and layout editor: Peter de Visser ; with the assistance of sixty five contributors, scholars and experts in various fields ; 24th printing.      
      220.3ZON ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1980
The illustrated Bible dictionary organizing ed.: J. D. Douglas ; revision ed.: N. Hillyer ; consulting ed.: F. F. Bruce ... [et al.] ; additional consulting eds. for the rev. edition: D. Guthrie, A. R. Millard ; consulting ed. for ill.: D. J. Wiseman ... [et al.].      
      220.3 ILL ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN,  PRINTED MATL 1980
Wilson's dictionary of Bible types by Walter Lewis Wilson ; 9th printing. : Wilson, Walter Lewis.     
      220.6WIL ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL c1979
The new combined Bible dictionary and concordance : with introduction on how to study the Bible by Charles F. Pfeiffer. : Pfeiffer, Charles F.     
      220.3PFE ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1979
Davis dictionary of the Bible John D. Davis. : Davis, John D.     
      220.3 DAV ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1978
A theological word book of the Bible edited by Alan Richardson.      
      220.3 THE ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1977
Black's Bible dictionary by Madeleine S. Miller and J. Lane Miller in consultation with eminent authorities ; drawings by Claire Valentine ; revised by eminent authorities!. : Miller, Madeleine S.     
      220.3MIL ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1973
Davis dictionary of the Bible John D. Davis. : Davis, John D.     
      220.3 DAV ; Main Lib Reference ;  Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1972
The new Westminster dictionary of the Bible edited by Henry Snyder Gehman.      
      220.3 NEW ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1970
Dictionary of Bible themes H.H. Rowley. : Rowley, H. H.     
      220.3 ROW ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1968
Dictionary of the Bible John L. McKenzie. : McKenzie, John L.     
      220.3 MCK ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1968
Vital words of the Bible by J.M. Furness. : Furness, J.M.     
      220.3FUR ; Main Lib Reference:CHECK SHELF   PRINTED MATL 1966
Bible meanings : a short theological word-book of the Bible by H. Graydon, D.E. Jenkins, E.C.D. Stanford. : Graydon, H.     
      220.3GRA ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1963
Dictionary of the Bible original edition by James Hastings. : Hastings, James,     
      220.3 HAS ; Main Lib Reference:CHECK SHELF   PRINTED MATL 1963
The new Bible dictionary organizing editor: J.D. Douglas, consulting editors F.F. Bruce ... (et al.).      
      220.3 NEW ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN,    PRINTED MATL 1962
The interpreter's dictionary of the Bible : an illustrated encyclopedia identifying and explaining all proper names and significant terms and subjects in the Holy Scriptures, including the Apocrypha George Arthur Buttrick, dictionary editor ; Thomas Samuel Kepler ... (et al.).      
      220.3INT ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL c1962
Illustrated dictionary of Bible manners and customs by A. van Deursen ; illustrated by J. de Vries. : Deursen, A. van     
      220.9103 DEU ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1958
Vocabulary of the Bible J.J. von Allmen ; translated from the French by P.J. Allcock ... [et al.]. : Von Allmen, Peter.     
      220.3 ALL ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1958
The Westminister dictionary of the Bible by John D. Davis ; revised and rewritten by Henry Snyder Gehman. : Davis, John D.     
      220.3 DAV ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1944
Dictionary of the Bible edited by James Hastings ; with the co-operation of John A. Selbie and with the assistance of John C. Lambert and Shailer Mathews.      
      220.3 DIC ; Main Lib Books:CHECK SHELF   PRINTED MATL 1909
A dictionary of the Bible : dealing with its language, literature and contents including the biblical theology edited by James Hastings ... (et al.).      
      220.3DIC ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1903
A dictionary of the Bible : comprising its antiquities, biography, geography, and natural history edited by William Smith.      
      220.3DIC ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1863
A dictionary of the Holy Bible : containing a biographical account of the persons .. by Miles Martindale. : Martindale, Miles.     
      220.3MAR ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1819
New concise Bible dictionary editor: Derek Williams.      
      220.3 NEW ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL  
New international dictionary of New Testament theology and exegesis Moise Silva, revision editor.      
      225.3 NEW ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 2014
A concise Greek-English dictionary of the New Testament prepared by Barclay M. Newman. : Newman, Barclay Moon,     
      225.3 NEW ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 2010
Dictionary of biblical criticism and interpretation edited by Stanley E. Porter.      
      220.603 DIC ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 2009
A Greek-English lexicon of the Septuagint T. Muraoka. : Muraoka, T.     
      221.4803 MUR ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 2009
Analytical lexicon to the Septuagint Bernard A. Taylor ; with word definitions by J. Lust, E. Eynikel, and K. Hauspie. : Taylor, Bernard A.           221.4803 TAY ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 2009
Dictionary of major biblical interpreters edited by Donald K. McKim.      
      220.609 DIC ; Main Lib Reference:CHECK SHELF   PRINTED MATL 2007
Dictionary for theological interpretation of the Bible Kevin J. Vanhoozer, general editor ; Craig G. Bartholomew, Daniel J. Treier, and N. T. Wright, associate editors.      
      220.3 DIC ; Main Lib Reference:CHECK SHELF   PRINTED MATL c2005
Pocket dictionary for the study of biblical Hebrew Todd J. Murphy. : Murphy, Todd J.,     
      492.4321 MUR ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL c2003
A concise dictionary of New Testament Greek Warren C. Trenchard. : Trenchard, Warren C.     
      478.403 TRE ; Main Lib Reference:CHECK SHELF   PRINTED MATL 2003
A dictionary of the English Bible and its origins Alec Gilmore. : Gilmore, Alec.     
      220.52003 GIL ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 2001
Pocket dictionary for the study of New Testament Greek Matthew S. DeMoss. : DeMoss, Matthew S.,     
      487.403 DEM ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL c2001
Dictionary of New Testament background editors, Craig A. Evans, Stanley E. Porter ; project manager, Ginny Evans.      
      225.9503 DIC ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL c2000
New dictionary of Biblical theology editors: T. Desmond Alexander, Brian S. Rosner ; consulting editors: D.A. Carson, Graeme Goldworthy ; organizing editor: Steve Carter.      
      230.04103 NEW ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN  
Dictionary of biblical interpretation John H. Hayes, general editor.      
      220.603DIC ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1999
New international dictionary of Old Testament theology & exegesis Willem A. VanGemeren, general editor.      
      221.3 NEW ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1997
The complete who's who in the Bible editor, Paul Gardner.      
      230.092 COM ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL c1995
Biblical social values and their meaning : a handbook edited by John J. Pilch and Bruce J. Malina.      
      225.95003BIB ; Main Lib Reference:CHECK SHELF   PRINTED MATL c1993
A Greek-English lexicon of the Septuagint : (twelve prophets) T. Muraoka. : Muraoka, T.     
      224.04803MUR ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1993
Dictionary of Paul and his letters editors: Gerald F. Hawthorne, Ralph P. Martin ; associate editor: Daniel G. Reid.      
      227.03 DIC ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL c1993
The analytical lexicon to the Greek New Testament William D. Mounce. : Mounce, William D.     
      487.4MOU ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1993
Who's who in the Old Testament : together with the Apocrypha Joan Comay. : Comay, Joan.     
      221.92 COM ; Main Lib Books:CHECK SHELF   PRINTED MATL 1993
Exegetical dictionary of the New Testament edited by Horst Balz and Gerhard Schneider.      
      225.4803 EXE ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1993
The vocabulary of the Old Testament Francis I. Andersen, A. Dean Forbes ; Repr. : Andersen, Francis I.     
      221.44AND ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1992
The complete word study New Testament : King James Version compiled and edited by Spiros Zodhiates.      
      225.48 BIB ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1991
Exegetical dictionary of the New Testament edited by Horst Balz and Gerhard Schneider.      
      225.4803 EXE ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1990-
A Dictionary of Biblical interpretation edited by R.J. Coggins and J.L. Houlden.      
      220.3 DIC ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1990
Greek-English lexicon of the New Testament : based on semantic domains Johannes P. Louw (editor), Eugene A. Nida (editor).      
      487.4 GRE ; Main Lib Reference:CHECK SHELF, Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN,  PRINTED MATL 1988
Theological dictionary of the New Testament edited by Gerhard Kittel and Gerhard Friedrich ; translated by Geoffrey W. Bromiley ; abridged in one volume by Geoffrey W. Bromiley.      
      225.3 THE ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN,   PRINTED MATL 1985
The new international dictionary of biblical archaeology Edward M. Blaiklock, R.K. Harrison, general editors ; David R. Douglass, managing editor.      
      220.9303 NEW ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL c1983
Shorter lexicon of the Greek New Testament F. Wilbur Gingrich. : Gingrich, F. Wilbur     
      487.4 GIN ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1983
A Gothic-Greek-English dictionary of the Gothic version of Paul's Letter to the Romans Clark Delmont Meader. : Meader, Clark Delmont           227.1049MEA ; Main Lib Storage:CHECK SHELF   PRINTED MATL 1982
Who's who in the New Testament Ronald Brownrigg. : Brownrigg, Ronald     
      225.922 BRO ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1982
Who's who in the Old Testament : together with the Apocrypha Joan Comay. : Comay, Joan     
      221.922COM ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1982
Dictionary of proper names and places in the Bible by O. Odelain and R. Seguineau ; preface by R. Tournay ; translated and adapted by Matthew J. O'Connell. : Odelain, O.     
      220.3ODE ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1982
 Handbook of Biblical criticism by Richard N. Soulen. : Soulen, Richard N.,     
      220.6 SOU ; Main Lib Books:CHECK SHELF   PRINTED MATL 1981
Who's who in the Gospels H.A. Guy ; Repr. : Guy, H.A.     
      225.3 GUY ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1980
Dictionary of the New Testament Xavier Leon-Dufour ; translated from the second (revised) French edition by Terrence Prendergast. : Leon-Dufour, Xavier.     
      225.3LEO ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL c1980
The New international dictionary of New Testament theology edited by Colin Brown.      
      225.3 NEW ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN, Main Lib Reference:CHECK SHELF,    PRINTED MATL 1978
 Biblico-theological lexicon of New Testament Greek by Hermann Cremer ; translated from the latest German edition by William Urwick. : Cremer, Hermann.     
      225.48CRE ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1977
A dictionary of life in Bible times W. Corswant ; completed and illustrated by Edouard Urech ; translated from the French by Arthur Heathcote ; foreword by Andre Parrot. : Corswant, W.     
      220.3COR ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN  

Bible Encyclopedias

Bible Encyclopedias
The international standard Bible encyclopedia general editor: Geoffrey W. Bromiley ; associate editors: Everett F. Harrison, Roland K. Harrison, William Sanford Lasor ; project editor Edgar W. Smith.      
      220.3 INT ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN,  PRINTED MATL c1979-
The living Bible encyclopedia in story and pictures.      
      220.3LIV ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL c1968
The international standard Bible encyclopaedia James Orr, general editor.      
      220.3INT ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1939
Eerdman's family encyclopedia of the Bible; organizing editor: Pat Alexander, consulting editors: John W. Drane, David Field (and) Alan Millard. : Alexander, Pat.     
      220.03EER ; Leisure Reading Non Fiction:CHECK SHELF   PRINTED MATL c1978
The Lion encyclopedia of the Bible organizing editor: Pat Alexander ; consulting editors: John W. Drane, David Field, Alan Millard ; illustrations: Vic Mitchell.      
      220.3 LIO ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL c1978
The Zondervan pictorial encyclopedia of the Bible general editor: Merrill C. Tenney ; associate editor: Steven Barabas.      
      220.3 ZON ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN,   PRINTED MATL 1975
The illustrated family encyclopedia of the Living Bible.      
      220.3ILL ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN, Main Lib Reserved Ref:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1967
Encyclopedia of comparative iconography : themes depicted in works of art editor, Helene E. Roberts.      
      704.903 ENC ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1998
The archaeological encyclopedia of the Holy Land edited by Avraham Negev ; introduction by Neil Asher Silberman.      
      220.9303ARC ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1990
Bauer encyclopedia of Biblical theology edited by Johannes B. Bauer ; 4th impression.      
      220.3BAU ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1982
Encyclopedia of theology : the concise Sacramentum Mundi edited by Karl Rahner.      
      203 ENC ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1981
Encyclopedia of archaeological excavations in the Holy Land.      
      220.93 ENC ; Main Lib Reference:NOT FOR LOAN   PRINTED MATL 1978

Report a problem