Hello everyone and welcome to CRIM 1514 Library information literacy skills.
I hope this will be an exciting and productive learning semester for us all.
I am Mr. Sihle Blose. I will take you through your journey this semester in CRIM 1514, Library information literacy skills. I will do my best to be available and assist you in whatever way you need during this course. The fastest way to reach me-and to get a response-is via the email. Feel free to contact me at 051 401 7875 or e-mail me on firstname.lastname@example.org to arrange for a one to one appointment.
The main purpose of these contact sessions is to introduce you to some of the important databases that will assist with your information needs for this module and throughout your studies. The training sessions will introduce you to basics of searching for information sources from different online databases. The session will focus on the following databases:
Please note there will be pre and post-training surveys, after each contact session there will be a test, all these will be posted on Blackboard.
On the Humanities Libguides, you will also find basic guides for doing information search on various databases. I wish you all best and please remember that these are lifelong skills that you will use throughout as you continue with further studying.
Contact session 2 will be introducing 2 (two) databases namely Sabinet African Journals (previously SA ePublications) and E-Book central. On the libguide under Criminology you will able to download PDF documents giving a brief tutorial to accessing these databases, also available on the libguide under Humanities libguide are videos on how to use both these databases.
Test 2 will be based on the content uploaded here, do the examples I have provided and others of your choice. For you to get used to finding information sources on these databases it is important to use them consistency. As indicated earlier there are video tutorial available on the Humaties libguide. If there is something you feel you do not understand, you can email me on email@example.com or phone 0514017875 to set up an appointment.
Mr Sihle Blose
Report a problem