LibGuides: Digital Scholarship Centre: Creating digital content

Need help with creating digital content?

If you are stretched thin, or feel that you are not successfully using digital technology to increase your time for other tasks, don't overspend already scarce time getting lost in a vast world of digital tools for content creation. We can help you:

Identify digital tools already available at the University
Identify digital tools freely available online
Acquire specific digital tools not already available at the University
By giving advice on the quickest and best ways to create digital content
By providing/organising training
By providing templates for digital tools such as presentations, audio, video and poster content

Send us an email with your specific needs.

Creating digital content

Karina Adcock shows a simple 8 step process for making an academic poster for a conference in PowerPoint.

Note: Since making this video she has discovered that in step 8 if you use 'print to pdf' depending on what your printer settings are it could change the size of your poster.

There are a couple of ways to save the poster as a pdf.
Go to File - Save As - then change the file type to pdf and save it.
Or go to File - Export - then create pdf.

For more information on Open Educational Resources (OERs), visit our OER guide.

Open Media

Digital History
Copyright free historical music for educational use by history teachers and their students.
Free Music Archive
The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads directed by WFMU, the longest-running freeform radio station in the United States.
Freesound
Freesound is a collaborative database of Creative Commons Licensed sound effects. Free registration required to download sounds.
FindSounds
Search the web for free sound effects.
Jamendo
The world’s biggest free music library. Download thousands of free MP3s, all with Creative Commons licenses so that you can modify, adapt and build on most works in your own projects.
Moby Gratis Film Music
This portion of moby.com, Film Music, is for independent and non-profit filmmakers, film students, and anyone in need of free music for their independent, non-profit film, video or short. The music is free as long as it’s being used in a non-commercial or non-profit film, video, or short.
NoCopyrightSounds
NoCopyrightSound is a dedicated music collective, providing free use music for creators to enhance their original content, safe from infringement.
SoundCloud CC Search
SoundCloud, launched in 2008 by Alexander Ljung and Eric Wahlforss, is a social sound platform that gives users unprecedented access to the world’s largest community of music and audio creators. This CC licensed search will allow you to find uploads to use in your projects.

SoundJay.com
Free sound effects to download and use.
YouTube Audio Library
Browse and download free music and sound effects for your project. Google account required.

Flickr CC photos
Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license and you can browse or search through content under each type of license here.
Images from the History of Medicine
Access to portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.
Lukasz Adams
Use these free Illustrations for your website, use the icons to represent your services or simply use these images to help users to understand your content.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Free and open access to digital images, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Open Peeps
The library works like building blocks made of vector arms, legs, and emotions. You can mix these elements to create different Peeps.
Perry-Casteñeda Library
Map images which can be downloaded, organized by region, type and theme. Most are public domain or licensed for non-commercial use. The PCL Map Collection includes more than 250,000 maps, 20% of which is online.
Pixabay
Pixabay is a vibrant community of creatives, sharing copyright free images and videos. All contents are released under Creative Commons CC0 which makes them safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist.
REALIA Project
The REALIA Project publishes faculty-reviewed media for the teaching and study of modern languages and cultures. Images from around the world available for non-commercial use. Although the archive is for foreign language instructors, materials can apply to cultural studies and other social science issues.
Smithsonian Institution's Science Service Historical Image Collection
A representative collection of twentieth-century scientific research on electricity consisting of images and original captions.
Unsplash
Over 1 million free high-resolution images brought to you by the world’s most generous community of photographers.
Wellcome images
Themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science. Images available on demand in digital form.
rawpixel
Professionally made collection of free images, vectors, PNGs, PSD mockups, and graphic templates.

Creative Commons Search
NASA Media Archive
Images, audio and video recordings related to space flight, astronomy and aeronautics created by NASA, most of which are not copyrighted.
Pexels
Pexels provides high quality and completely free stock photos (and videos) licensed under the Pexels license. All photos are nicely tagged, searchable and also easy to discover through our discover pages.

Dareful
Dareful.com is your source for completely free 4K stock video clips that can be downloaded and used any way you want, forever! You never pay a dime.
Internet Archive: Prelinger Archives
Collection of "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, instructional, amateur) films.
Mazwai
Mazwai.com is a resource for free stock footage and moving images, created with one clear mission: to give creators around the world free access to beautiful stock footage, with simple licensing.
Open Video Project
Repository of digital video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.
Internet Archive: moving image archive
Variety of moving-image collections in digital format. Includes fiction and documentary films, advertisements, news footage, television programs, etc.
Library of Congress: motion picture and television
Videezy
We’re proud to be one of the largest video communities in the world. Our growing collection of high-quality footage makes filmmaking easy and affordable. Plus, most files are free to download and free to use. You’re making the world a more beautiful place. We’re just here to support the cause.
Videvo
Videvo features video clips from all over the world. You can use the free stock footage clips in any project, commercial or non-commercial on a royalty-free basis.
YouTube
Users may mark their videos with a Creative Commons "CC BY" license. These videos are accessible to YouTube users for use, in their own videos via the YouTube Video Editor.