If you are interested in incorporating digital methods in your research, the DSC is your one-stop-shop to the many resources available at the University
There are many digital and online tools available for researchers. This collection of tools was inspired by Connected Researchers and you can visit this website for a much larger list of research tools for:
BibSonomy helps you to manage your publications and bookmarks, to collaborate with your colleagues and to find new interesting material for your research.
ContentMine's software is freely available to the research community because their mission is to promote content mining techniques. Using machines to read and analyse the literature greatly reduces the burden of data-intensive research and literature reviews. Content mining saves time and resources while improving the quality of literature-based research by increasing throughput and accuracy.
Get the Data Elixir newsletter for a weekly dose of the top data science picks from around the web. Covering machine learning, data visualization, analytics, and strategy.
The Scientific Literacy Tool is an educational web-platform helping with the discovery, understanding, and exploration of your scientific topics of interest.
Rayyan makes collaborative systematic reviews faster, easier, and more convenient. Free version available. Visit our tutorial on the free version: https://ufs.libguides.com/digitalscholar/rayyan.
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
Through the ICDF, the UFS seeks to create opportunities for research in the fast-evolving and multifaceted realm of the digital. Our focus is to develop and to strengthen research endevours with the potential to enhance interdisciplinary competencies within the socio-digital domain.
The HSRC Research Data Service provides a digital repository facility for the HSRC's research data in support of evidence based human and social development in South Africa and the broader region.
The Southern African Large Telescope (SALT) is a 10-metre class optical telescope designed mainly for spectroscopy. The SALT Data Archive provides access to SALT observations to the astronomy community. The archive is browser-based and its backend is implemented in TypeScript and is using a MySQL database.
The South African Data Archive serves as a broker between a range of data providers (for example, statistical agencies, government departments, opinion and market research companies and academic institutions) and the research community.
An advanced Twitter scraping & OSINT tool written in Python that doesn't use Twitter's API, allowing you to scrape a user's followers, following, Tweets and more while evading most API limitations.
A structured way to create and modify your protocols in minutes. Make them from scratch or upload and convert your existing Word/PDF documents quick and easy.
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
JournalReviewer is an independent site that aggregates information users provide about their experience with academic journals' review processes so that other others can be as informed as possible as they consider journal submissions.
Tracks what people are saying about papers online on behalf of publishers, authors, libraries and institutions. To see what people are saying about UFS research, contact the Centre (dsc@ufs.ac.za).
